Skip to content

Carpet Culture

May 18, 2010

 

"Carpet Culture" 42 x 56 inches, oil on canvas, 2008 - sold

 

What strikes me first about Richard’s work? The amazing colors and the curved lines, and the unique perspective he brings to his buildings, streets, lampposts, and roads.

At first blush the buildings can seem a little off balance. But in the end, they are what ensure that Richard’s work never gets old. I love those curved buildings and curly lampposts. I also love the way his paintings transport me. I can get lost staring at his work, imagining I am there in Amsterdam or New York City or China. The table with its tulips and Vanity Fair: It’s a simple subject, but from Richard’s perspective it takes on interest and meaning, creating a warm and welcoming space for me.

I especially love “Howard Street.” New York is my home, though I am temporarily relocated on the opposite coast. When I am homesick, I look at “Howard Street” and there I am in downtown Manhattan, rushing to pick up something or get to the subway because I am running late. All the energy comes through, and that picks me up.

Mary Herms

Private Collector

From → recent work

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

